International Journal for Human Caring

Edited by:
Zane Robinson Wolf, PhD, RN, FAAN
Editorial board
ISSN (print): 
1091-5710
ISSN (online): 
2578-2304

The International Journal for Human Caring (IJHC), the official journal of the International Association for Human Caring (IAHC), is a peer-reviewed quarterly which serves as a forum for identifying major philosophical, epistemological, and professional dimensions of care and caring to advance the body of knowledge of human care.

IJHC is designed to:

  • Assist nursing and other disciplines to use care and caring knowledge in human relationships.

  • Explicate the nature, scope, and functions of care and caring and their relationship to nursing.

  • Identify the major components, processes, and patterns of care and caring in relationship to nursing.

  • Stimulate and support nurse scholars and other professionals worldwide to systematically investigate care and caring.

  • Disseminate research findings about caring and share knowledge through publications, public forums, and research conferences.

Authors from all disciplines are encouraged to submit manuscripts which meet these purposes.

Have access already?

Advertisement

Manuscript Submission

Manuscripts for publication in the journal should be submitted online.

Author Resources

We provide the following author resources. Please carefully read this material before submitting a manuscript:

The International Journal for Human Caring (IJHC), the official journal of the International Association for Human Caring (IAHC), is a peer-reviewed journal which serves as a scholarly forum for:

  • Identifying major philosophical, epistemological, and professional dimensions of care and caring to advance the body of knowledge of human care.

  • Assist nursing and other disciplines to use care and caring knowledge in human relationships.

  • Explicate the nature, scope, and functions of care and caring and their relationship to nursing.

  • Identify the major components, processes, and patterns of care and caring in relationship to nursing.

  • Stimulate and support nurse scholars and other professionals worldwide to systematically investigate care and caring.

  • Disseminate research findings about caring and share knowledge through publications, public forums, and research conferences.

Authors from all disciplines are encouraged to submit manuscripts which meet these purposes.

ASSISTANT EDITORS

Kathleen L. Sitzman, PhD, MS, RN
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Nursing
East Carolina University
College of Nursing
Greenville, NC
USA

Charlotte Barry, PhD, RN
Editor, Essays
Florida Atlantic University
USA

Marian Turkel, RN, PhD, FAAN
Editor, Book Reviews and Continuing Education
Florida Atlantic University
USA

Nancey France, PhD, RN
Editor, Book Reviews and Continuing Education
Florida Atlantic University
USA

A.Lynne Wagner, EdD, MSN, RN
Editor, Poetry
Watson Caring Science Institute
USA

EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD

Julie Benbenishty, RN, MNSc, PhD
JULIE@hadassah.org.il
Israel

Anne Boykin, PhD, RN
boykina@fau.edu
USA

Chantal Cara, PhD, RN
Chantal.cara@umontreal.ca
Canada

Lorena Chaparro Diaz, PhD, RN
olchaparrod@unal.edu.co
Columbia

Joanne R. Duffy, DNSc, RN, FAAN 
jrduffy@quality-caring.com
USA

Katie Eriksson, PhD, RN
kaerikss@abo.fi
Finland

Jane Flanagan, Ph.D., RN, AHN-BC, ANP-BC, FAAN
jane.flanagan@bc.edu
Boston
USA

Dawn Freshwater, PhD, RN
dawn.freshwater@uwa.edu.au
Australia, Great Britain

Shirley Gordon, PhD, RN, NCSN, AHN-BC
sgordon@health.fau.edu
USA

Sigridur Halldorsdottir, RN, MSN, PhD (Med Dr)
sigridur@unak.is
Iceland

Naohiro Hohashi, PhD, RN, PHN, FAAN
naohiro.hohashi.org
Japan

Jane Lee-Hsieh, RN, MSN
hsiehjane@ntunhs.edu.tw
Taiwan, Republic of China

Anne Kasén, PhD, LicNsc, MNsc, RN
anne.kasen@nord.no
Norway, Finland

Claire Mallette, RN, PhD
cmallett@yorku.ca
Canada

Patricia L. Munhall, EdD, ARNP, PsyA, FAAN
pmunhall@aol.com
USA

Marilyn A. (Dee) Ray, RN, PhD, CTN-A, FAAN
mray@fau.edu
USA

Forough Rafii, PhD, RN
foroughrafii@yahoo.com
Iran

Maj-Britt Råholm, PhD, RN
Majbritt.raholm@hvl.no
mraholm@netikka.fi
Norway

Arne W. Rehnsfeldt, PhD
arne.rehnsfeldt@hvl.no
Norway

Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN
gwensher@email.unc.edu
USA

Savina Schoenhofer, PhD, RN
savibus1@att.net
USA

Marlaine Smith, RN, PhD, AHN-BC, FAAN
marlaine.smith@fau.edu
msmit230@fau.edu
USA

Kristen M. Swanson, PhD, RN
swansonk@seattleu.edu
USA

Tetsuya Tanioka, RN, PhD, FAAN
tanioka.tetsuya@tokushima-u.ac.jp
tetsuyayt@gmail.com

Japan

Kathleen Louise Valentine, RN, MS, PhD
klvalen@clemson.edu
USA

Jean Watson, PhD, RN, AHN-BC, FAAN, LL (AAN)
jean@watsoncaringscience.org
jeanwatson@comcast.net
USA

EDITORIAL REVIEW BOARD

Catherine Aquino-Russell, RN, BScN, MN, PhD
caquinor@unab.ca
Canada

Darlene Amendolair, PhD, MN.RN
damendolair@uscupstate.edu
USA

Jan Anderson, RN, MSN, AHN-BC
anderj@sbceo.org
USA

Lisa Bagnall, PhD, RN, CNL
lisabag@ufl.edu
USA

Denise Nagle Bailey, EdD, MEd, MSN, CNE, RN
dnaglebailey@gmail.com
USA

Charlotte Barry, PhD, RN, FAAN
cbarry@fau.edu
USA

Mark D. Beck, DNP, MSN, BS, RN, CENP
mbeck@samuelmerritt.edu
USA

Maria Bjork, PhD, RN
maria.bjork@ju.se
Sweden

Diane Breckenridge, PhD, MSN, RN, ANEF
dianebreckenridge@cdrewu.edu
USA

Sylvain Brousseau, RN, MN, PhD
sylvain.brousseau@uqo.ca
Canada

Deborah Byrne, PhD, RN
Byrned@lasalle.edu
USA

Gayle L. Casterline, PhD, RN, CNE
gcasterline@gardner-webb.edu
USA

Terry Chase, MA, ND, RN
tmchase@coloradomesa.edu
USA

Sherrilyn Coffman, PhD, RN
sherrilyn.coffman@nsu.edu
USA

Lisa Davis, PhD, RB
ldavis@wtamu.edu
USA

Rodnita K. Davis, MSN, RN, CNE
rdavis9@ndm.edu

USA

Patrick J. Dean, EdD, RN, MStJ
dean0057@umn.edu
USA

Charlotte Delmar, PhD, RN
cd@ph.au.dk
Denmark

Mary E. Desmond, PhD, RN, AHN-BC
desmonma@lewisu.edu
USA

Patricia Welch Dittman, PhD, RN, CDE
pdittman@health.fau.edu
USA

Dr. Charlene Downing
charlened@uj.ac.za
South Africa

Dorothy J. Dunn, PhD, APN, FNP-BC, AHN-BC
dotdunn@yahoo.com
USA

Kelly Dyar, EdD, RN, CNN, CNE
kdylar@westga.edu
USA

Philip Esterhuizen, RN, BA (Cur), MScN, PhD
philip_esterhuizen@hotmail.com
Netherlands, Great Britain

Deborah Flournoy, PhD, APRN, FNP-BC
dflournoy@txwes.edu
USA

Nancey France, PhD, RN, AHN-BC
nfrance@health.fau.edu
USA

Wrennah L. Gabbert, PhD, RN, CPNP, FNPB-C
wrennah.gabbert@aangelo.edu
USA

Lorraine Gdanetz, PhD, RN, PCCN
gdanetz004@gannon.edu
USA

Lynette M. Gibson, PhD, RN
lgibson@uscupstate.edu
USA

Marlienne Goldin, RN, BSN, MPA
marlgold@aol.com
USA

Iain Graham, PhD, Med, MSc, BSc, RN, FACN, MACMHN
iain.graham@scu.edu.au
Australia

Kathryn Gramling, PhD, RN
kGramling@umassd.edu
USA

Susan Sweat Gunby, PhD, RN
Gunby_SS@Mercer.edu
USA

Mary Hanson-Zalot, EdD, MSN, RN, AOCN, CNE
hansonzalot@lasalle.edu
USA

Kathryn Stewart Hegedus, DNSc, RN
kathryn.hegedus@uconn.edu
k.hegedus@sbcglobal.net
USA

Sheryl Jacobson, MS, RN
sljacobson@viterbo.edu
USA

Lisa George Jordan, PhD, RN
lisajordan76@verizon.net
jordan@pgcc.edu
USA

Dawn Koonkongsatian MSN-Ed, RN, CNN, COI
dawn.koonkongsatian@nsc.edu
USA

Rozzano Locsin, PhD, RN, FAAN
locsin@fau.edu
USA

Dana Lusk, MS, RN, CRRN, CHPN
dana.lusk@marquette.edu
USA

Maryann Malloy, MSN, RN
mmalloy66@hotmail.com
USA

Margaret Marino, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC
mmarino@ycp.edu
USA

Colleen Maykut, DNP, RN
maykutc@macewan.ca
Canada

Suzanne Fiona McBean, PhD, BSc, MSc, GGN
sfmcbean@ulster.ac.uk
Northern Ireland
Great Britain

M. Patrice McCarthy, PhD, RN, CNS
mpmccarthy@ndc.edu
USA

Joyce P. Miller, DNP, RN
millerj2@augsburg.edu
USA

Denise Miner-Williams, PhD, RN, CHPN
minerwilli@uthscsa.edu
USA

Susan Diemert Moch, PhD, RN
smoch@uwec.edu
USA

Mary O’Connor, PhD, RN, FACHE
moconnor@ndm.edu
USA

Wongchan Petpichetchian, PhD, RN
pwongcha@raatree.psu.ac.th
pwongcha@hotmail.com
Thailand

Rebecca A. Patronis-Jones, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, CNE
jfrsmedbill@gmail.com
USA

Kathryn Lesley Reid
kate.reid@canterbury.ac.nz
New Zealand

William Rosa, MS, RN, LMT,AHN-BC, AGPCNP-BC, CCRN-CMC
billy.rosa@gmail.com
USA

Teresa Sakraida, PhD, RN
tsakraida@health.fau.edu
USA

Deborah K. Schuhmacher, DNP, RN, HTC
schuhmac@augsburg.edu
USA

Kathleen L. Sitzman, PhD, MS, RN
kathy.sitzman@gmail.com
sitzmank@ecu.edu
USA

Jackie Somerville, PhD, RN
jackie.somerville@uphs.upenn.edu
USA

Karen Sousa, PhD, RN, FAAN
karen.sousa@cuanschutz.edu

USA

Cherrill Stockman, PhD, RN, CNE
cistock@ilstu.edu
USA

Louise Sullivan
louise.sullivan@salve.edu
USA

Jane Sumner, PhD, RN, APRN-BC
sumne@lsuhsc.edu
jandeumner23@yahoo.com USA

Donna Taliaferro, PhD, RN
dhtaliaferro@gmail.com
USA

Marian Turkel, RN, PhD, FAAN
mturkel@health.fau.edu
USA

Rebecca L. Turpin, PhD, MSN, RN, NEA-BC
turpinrl@appstate.edu
USA

Frances R. Vlasses, PhD, RN, FAAN
fvlasse@luc.edu
USA

Delene Volkert, PhD, RN, CNE
dvolkert@westga.edu
USA

A.Lynne Wagner, EdD, MSN, RN
lynnewagner@comcast.net
USA

Linda S. Weglicki, PhD, RN
weglicki@musc.edu
USA

Susan Welch, EdD, RN, NE
swelch@westga.edu
USA

Mary Wilby, PhD, MSN, MPH, CRNP, ANP-BC, RN
wilby@lasalle.edu
USA

Gail B. Williams, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC
williamsg@uthscsa.edu
USA

Zane Robinson Wolf, PhD, RN, CNE, FAAN
wolf@lasalle.edu
wolfzanemarie@gmail.com
USA

Mary Ellen Wright, PhD, APRN, CPNP
mewrig@clemson.edu
USA

Advertisement